First Home Owner’s Grant (FHOG)

What is the First Home Owner’s Grant (FHOG)?

The First Home Owner’s Grant (FHOG) scheme was introduced on 1 July 2000 to offset the effect of the GST on home ownership. It is a national scheme funded by the states and territories and administered under their own legislation.

Under the scheme, a one-off grant is payable to first home owners that satisfy all the eligibility criteria.

Who is eligible for the First Home Owner’s Grant (FHOG)?

If you are permanent resident or citizen of Australia and you are buying or building your first home, you should be eligible for the grant. The general rule for eligibility is that you are purchasing with the intention of occupying it as your principle place of residence within 12 months of settlement. If you are planning to buy with someone else, both of you need to be eligible for the grant.

How do I apply for the First Home Owner’s Grant (FHOG)?

When you submit a loan application to the bank and you have found a property, then the FHOG application is submitted as a part of your home loan application to your lender. They will handle the application on your behalf with the State Revenue Office (SRO) and the money is usually available at the time of settlement for established properties. In case of construction, FHOG is available at the first draw down.

You also have the option to submit your application to the SRO directly and claim the money. The former option is the most preferred option.

How is the First Home Owner’s Grant (FHOG) paid to me?

When you buy an established property, the FHOG is paid into your nominated bank account via electronic funds transfer (EFT) usually within 10 working days once the application is received.

Need more information?

If you are after more information, then you can visit or any of the individual sites listed below:

  1. Australian Capital Territory: ACT Revenue Office
  2. Queensland: Office of State Revenue
  3. New South Wales: NSW Office of State Revenue
  4. Northern Territory: Northern Territory Treasury
  5. South Australia: Revenue SA
  6. Tasmania: First Home Owners Grant Tasmania
  7. Victoria: The State Revenue Office (SRO)
  8. Western Australia: First Home Owners Grant Western Australia